Questions regarding EK and Flare game engine

Borondil

Hey, I have a question concerning David or maybe anyone else who has experince is game development.
Seeing all the things David did in EK inspired my and now I'm planning on developing my own CRPG. The game is supposed to be released on PC first but I plan on porting it to mobile later on as well. My strength is writing and world building. I'm not good at composing music or drawing art myself so I'm planning on using graphics from the flare game project and some free music from OGA. Since I have never coded before the big question ahead is which engine to use:
1. Solely flare engine: It seems convenient and easy to use but since the engine is made for ARPG's I fear I might not be able to implement some of the deeper conversation and character development systems I want to have. In addition to that I'm uncertain whether it is easy to get into the engine since there are only few tutorials.
2. Like EK a mixture between flare and a self coded engine: I guess this would offer me most options but it probably requires the deepest knowledge about programming. (I would be fine with using the EK engine but as far as I know David thinks that it is not ready to be used by anyone but him yet).
3. Unity engine: I guess this would be a lot of work since I'd need to learn a lot of new things, but considering the amount of available tutorials I don't expect it to be difficult. Since this one leaves me a lot of options and is easy to port I seriously consider using it.
I'm new to this forum and have never posted a thread before so I hope I did nothing wrong. Thanks in advance to anyone who replies to this post.

VDX_360

Staff member
Since you've never coded before, I suggest you stick with using only one system and scrap any plans for a mobile port.